Reflecting

image

It is amazing how looking at a picture can bring back so many memories. I remember the day this picture was taken. I was sitting in the passenger seat. It was one of those beautiful picturesque days. The sun was shinning bright. The temperature had to be around 78 degrees, neither hot nor cold. Summer was coming to an end. I had my feet up on the dash board and snapped this picture of myself while sitting in the car wanting on “The Guy”. He said he wanted to take me on a date and to my surprise we actually ended up spending the entire day together.  We went to a stage play put on by local actors, had lunch at a really cool Asian fusion restaurant, and then met up with some of his family and friends for an end of the summer picnic and gathering. It was just one of those weekends that I never wanted to end and I was so happy that we were together enjoying each others company. His family and friends genuinely embraced me and accepted me as I was without hesitation.

“I have never had anyone around my family before.”

“Really?”

“Yes.”

“Do you take other women on dates?”

“I don’t take you on dates…. I spend whole days with you.”

My inner goddess sure was pleased that day but unfortunately that was the exception to the rule. We never spent a day like that together again.

image

I’m in the driver seat now. I can honestly say that we never shared many bad times. Intentions were good but after nearly a year and a half of dealing with each other he still isn’t ready for me and what I have to offer.  There is a quote that says “No matter how good of a woman you are, you will never be good enough for a man who isn’t ready.” That quote is not only cleaver but very true.
Life is for the living. Enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

